Feijoa and Apple Crumble

IMG_4773

Feijoas – The Celebrated fruit of our nation is finally in season and I am loving life, I’ve never been able to get these anywhere else in the world and they are literally my favourite during my travels I had to go three years without these beauties so I try to appreciate them as much as I can while they are here. Ive never really experimented baking with them on their own because I think they are just so damn delicious on their own but I am quite partial to a Feijoa and Apple Crumble, you could make this without apples but I like deserts like this a bit tart.

I don’t actually follow a specific recipe I have made crumble so many times and its pretty easy to make,  so here is a general guideline but feel free to add or take away things as you please!

Filling

2 Ballarat Apples ( or any cooking Apple you can get your hands on)

8 Feijoas

2 Tablespoon Maple Syrup

Crumble

75g Butter ( Room temperature)

1/2 Cup Flour

1/4 Cup Sugar

1/4 Cup Oats

1/4 Cup Coconut

Pre heat oven to 180.

Peel your fruit and roughly chop them into pieces, throw your fruit into a saucepan and add the maple syrup (feel free to add more if you like it sweeter) and let the fruit mixture stew for about 10 ten minutes on a low heat. Try not to stir too much you don’t want to break the fruit.

While your fruit  is stewing make the crumble by adding all the dry ingredients in to a bowl and then add the butter. Work the butter into the mixture with your hands and until its resembles bread crumbs, alternatively you can just throw it all into a food processor to save on time.

Pour your stewed fruit into a baking dish then top with the crumble mixture. Bake for 30 minutes, until the crumble is golden.

Serve hot with vanilla ice cream and enjoy.

IMG_4777

Leave a Reply

