Summer Essentials

I cannot believe how quickly the seasons changed, my winter coats, tights and scarfs have been relegated to the back of the closet and suddenly its bare legs and summer dress there wasn’t really much of an awkward in between transition period. To be honest sartorially speaking Summer isn’t exactly my favourite season I would happily spend the year in Chelsea boots and Pea Coats rather than flip flops and bikinis.

New Zealanders have a very unique summer uniform which is usually a tank top, shorts and flip flops regardless of gender, age, shape and everything in between so I suppose it is inclusive but I can’t say it’s a look I can pull off or ever wear haha.

I have sort of adopted my own Summer uniform, as much as I would love to wear black all year round my go to colour (shade) for warmer seasons is white, it just compliments my skin really well and deflects the sun or something like that. I am all about the skater and shift dresses worn with sandals.

Here are my top summer essentials;

Korres Sun Cream- Here in Kiwiland we have the most lush weather but the most harmful rays, this is a great face and body sun cream and they also have it in a SPF 50 as well.

IMG_3774

Dress – I usually opt for a cotton skater dress, not my usual black but I am really loving this blue gingham one from ASOS and it was such a steal!

IMG_3780

Flip Flops – A Kiwi classic, these are the best quality flip flops I have come across.

IMG_3695.JPG

Eyewear – Perfect for keeping harmful rays out of your eyes and avoiding people, I currently wearing Karen Walker Northern Lights in black, I really like Cat Eye Frames they suit my heart shaped face plus the filigree detailing on the arms makes it that little bit more interesting.

IMG_3974

Water Bottle – Remember to stay hydrated on hot summer days, I have had my eye on a glass BKR water bottle they are so chic and BPA free!

Disposable Camera – For the memories and I would much rather lose one of these as opposed to my smart phone.

Korres http://bit.ly/1NhfDNa

Asos Dress http://bit.ly/1OwgR62

Havainas http://bit.ly/1jp91jE

Leave a Reply

